What Are the Penalties for Domestic Assault in Michigan? Grand Rapids Criminal Defense Lawyer Explains
May 23, 2016
Domestic violence is a serious matter in Michigan. The broad definition of domestic violence is any violent behavior that a person in a relationship uses to control the other.
It is a common misconception that the offender and the victim need to live together in order to constitute domestic violence, but this is not always the case. The partners could be dating, unmarried, married, living together, or living separately. Examples of domestic violence include stalking, sexual abuse, and physical assault.
In Michigan, there are two classifications for domestic violence: Domestic Assault and Aggravated Domestic Assault. Domestic Assault may not involve an injury, but Aggravated Domestic Assault usually involves severe injuries that require medical attention. The penalties of a conviction depend on the specific charges the defendant faces.
If Michigan police arrested you for Domestic Assault or Aggravated Domestic Assault, contact Gordon & Hess, PLC. Daniel B. Hess Jr. is a Grand Rapids criminal law attorney who will aggressively fight for a positive outcome to your case. Call 616-272-3331 today to schedule a free consultation.
In the meantime, read on to learn about the penalties for Domestic Assault and Aggravated Domestic Assault in Michigan:
Penalties of a Domestic Assault Conviction
A first conviction of Domestic Assault is a misdemeanor that comes with up to 93 days in jail. You may also face a $500 fine.
A second conviction is also a misdemeanor. However, the maximum jail time increases to one year, and the fine jumps to $1,000.
A third conviction is a felony with a maximum prison sentence of two years. The maximum fine is $2,500.
Penalties of an Aggravated Domestic Assault Conviction
A first conviction of Aggravated Domestic Assault is a misdemeanor that comes with up to one year in jail. You may also face a $1,000 fine.
A second conviction is a felony. The maximum prison sentence is two years, and the maximum fine is $2,500.
If convicted, you may face probation. Misdemeanor probation can last up to two years, but probation for a felony can last up to five years. The judge may also order anger management counseling, AA, drug and alcohol testing, and community service.
Should you hire a criminal defense lawyer?
The consequences of a conviction for Domestic Assault or Aggravated Domestic Assault can be life-changing. In addition to the financial costs, a conviction can affect your career and personal freedoms. It can also land you behind bars for several years.
These are serious charges, and you should never face the justice system alone. A criminal law attorney can evaluate your case, gather evidence, talk to witnesses and structure your defense. With the right approach – and depending on the facts of your case – it may be possible to convince the judge to reduce the charges or penalties, or to dismiss the case altogether.
If you were arrested for Domestic Assault or Aggravated Domestic Assault, contact Gordon & Hess, PLC. Schedule a free initial consultation with a Grand Rapids criminal defense lawyer by calling 616-272-3331.