Breath Test Following Collision Reveals Mother of Four Was Driving with a BAC of 0.318
November 20, 2017
According to the Battle Creek Enquirer, police arrested a 30-year-old woman for driving while intoxicated and four counts of child endangerment following a drunk driving collision. Law enforcement personnel claim they responded to the 100 block of Battle Creek Avenue just after 9:30 a.m. to find that the woman had struck a fire hydrant, tree, and telephone pole near her home.
Police report the motorist was so inebriated that she could not stand up straight. As a result, they decided against conducting any field sobriety tests. When officers administered a breath test, the woman’s blood alcohol concentration measured 0.318. According to police, the woman initially claimed she had not been drinking. Later, she said she’d had a little more than one beer. The woman’s four children were in the vehicle with her at the time of the collision. Fortunately, no injures were reported. Law enforcement officials report that the woman had regained custody of her children two weeks prior following an incident with Child Protective Services (CPS). Police have since notified CPS of this accident. If you are facing charges for DUI following a motor vehicle collision, there is a lot at stake, and you have enough to worry about, especially if you were hurt in the accident. Turn to the team at Gordon & Hess, PLC for quality legal guidance during every stage of the criminal proceedings. A Grand Rapids criminal attorney can assess the circumstances of your arrest and the strength of the evidence against you in order to help you determine the best way to proceed. Call 616-272-3331 to schedule a case evaluation and start building your defense. What Is DUI Child Endangerment? In the state of Michigan, DUI child endangerment occurs when someone drives under the influence of drugs of alcohol while transporting one or more passengers who are younger than 16 years old. Penalties for a DUI child endangerment conviction can be more severe than those for simply driving under the influence, which is why people who are facing such charges should seek legal counsel from an experienced criminal attorney. What Are the Penalties for DUI Child Endangerment? First offenders who have been charged with DUI child endangerment in Michigan face a fine of up to $1,000 and a jail sentence of up to one year. Subsequent offenders face even harsher penalties because the violation is then considered a felony. Potential penalties for a second DUI child endangerment conviction within seven years of the first include a fine of up to $5,000 and a prison sentence of up to five years. Because of Michigan’s Zero Tolerance law for underage motorists, minors transporting other minors while under the influence of drugs or alcohol face harsh penalties, as well. The potential consequences of doing so include a fine of up to $500, a jail sentence of up to 93 days, and a community service order of up to 60 days. If you are facing charges for DUI child endangerment, contact Gordon & Hess, PLC. Our attorneys have 30 years of combined experience defending clients throughout West Michigan. Call 616-272-3331 to schedule a consultation with a criminal lawyer in Grand Rapids. If you want to learn more about fighting DUI charges in Michigan, visit USAttorneys.com.